Recycled Skirt

Standard

Pink Recycled Skirt 2
Originally uploaded by Psaryce

I have finally gotten around to adding this blog! This is the skirt I made at a recent Recycle & Sew event in Fareham. The event was great fun and I will post pics as soon as I can. There was a wide variety of people and projects going on and it was very interesting to see what everyone else was getting up to. In the room were large tables set out in a semi-circle for us to work on plus two large tables with the machines (2 normal sewing machines, 2 overlockers and a coverstitch machine) and a huge pile of used clothing and scraps to play with.

Aside from us ladies, two boys who had won a competition at a children’s event were there. I would guess they were about 8 and 11. They were fabulous and so inspiring! One of the assistants helped the elder boy add to his camouflage-style trousers so they fit more comfortably (they were too tight) and the other boy decorated a T-shirt to look like a tux using red sparkly fabrics and other trims. The assistant was most impressive in her dealings with the boys and even got one who was very reluctant to use the sewing machine to have a go on the overlocker!

Another lady re-styled a simple summer dress for her daughter to be Tinkerbell. Others were pattern cutting, one lady brought loads of items to be fitted.

My project was to re-vamp an well loved jersey hooded jacket that buttoned up. I had received it in a bag of clothes through Freecycle and loved the mis-dyed soft pink fabric. It was several sizes too big for me and as I said it was worn out with holes at the pockets edges and along the drawstring casings. So I created a skirt which I still needed to finish the waistband at the end of the day. I feel I could have completed it on the day but kept looking around at everyone else’s work.

All-in-all it was a fun afternoon on a very grey and yucky Saturday. I will definitely to go another event like this and will bring my DD along as well.

Leave a Reply

