Nail Polish is Flammable

Standard

I don’t polish my nails very often but sitting here just a bit ago I was. I had just finished one hand (the easy one) and went to light a cigarette (yes I know, I know!). And I thought of how an ex of mine used to get very spasmodic about me flicking the lighter with “wet” nails as if they would burst into flames. Back then, I was “in love” (or so I thought) and chalked it up to his being a man and not having experience of nail polish and all that girly stuff. On reflection, though, I find myself thinking “Did he have no common sense?”!

I once saw a comedian on the telly, years ago, talking about the need in today’s society to have (and hand out) “Stupid” signs. To him there are people for whom manufacturers put instructions for how to use their products on the products themselves. For example, shampoo  bottles have “directions for use” on them. It really isn’t necessary to write it out … “Lather, rinse, repeat”. Most 5 year olds have the concept down pat but probably couldn’t actually read the instructions. So why have these directions on the products?

Well the comedian explains it is for “stupid” people and these people should be given a sign to carry around with them at all times in order to warn everyone else that the are “stupid” and need basic, common sense instructions. He then proceeded to discus scenarios of stupidity and of passing out “stupid” signs with a catchphrase of “Here’s your sign”. His accent being a “Redneck” Southern American drawl only adds to the ridiculousness of people so lacking in common sense that they need a sign.

I confess I have come across people at times and wished I could give them a “stupid” sign; their behaviour or comments just simply warranted one. Like my ex would reacted as if I had dowsed both my hand in petrol (gasoline), leaving a trail throughout the house and was about to blow us both up. Just because I lit a cigarette with my right hand while having just polished the nails of my left.

But like I said, I thought I was “in love” so I overlooked this. Love promotes tolerance of stupidity. Love promotes forgiveness of ignorance. We should all love more.

Psaryce x

Leave a Reply

