A Lifelong Student

Standard

I am a lifelong student. There is so much knowledge out in the world that I would dearly love to gain. I have studied a wide variety of subjects over the years. From Biomedical Science to Social Anthropology, including Yoga Instruction, Sociology, Neuro-Linguistic Programming, tarot, essential oils and so much more! I simply love to learn! It satisfies my inquisitive nature, fulfils a desire within me to grow/expand and it nurtures my aspirations to understand the world around me.

So, I have decided to treat myself and just snapped up a deal for an on-line course … Master Herbalist. Many years ago I took a mail order course in Herbalism that focused on using herbs around the house for a variety of things. It was a basic course designed to give a foundational knowledge of the basics. Since then I have continued to dabble in herbalism as and when the need to learn more arose.

This course I have just signed myself up for goes beyond the basics and comes with certifications to boot! Not that I care much about the certifications … I want to learn, absorb and expand my knowledge to another level. I’m so excited and can’t wait to begin!

In addition to my never-ending thirst for knowledge, my love of growing plants combined with my belief in the powers of herbs to heal makes this the perfect course for me. As I study, I can use the plants I already have and start growing new ones with the aim of gaining a deeper understanding of each herb. There’s nothing quite so good as hands-on learning in my opinion. Touching, smelling, tasting and using various herbs alongside the factual learning will be a fantastic holistic experience.

I love to grow my plants from seed. To tuck them gently into their beds of soil and carefully tend to them. Seeing the first little sprout beginning to push through the soil. Nurturing their fragile bodies as they grow into a seedling. Nourishing them as they continue to grow and develop into strong, hardy plants. It is a beautiful experience from the start and I could never tire of the joy I receive from growing plants.

Soon I will begin on this new journey in my life. A final gift to me from the year 2015 as it is coming to it’s end … an exciting adventure for me to take with me into the new year!  I am eager to begin. I am all set to embrace the experience. I am ready to grow, to expand, to learn!

 

Psaryce x

PS: Before posting this, I got the email giving access to the course and I couldn’t resist starting right away. At a glance it is what I would class as a college level course (not university level) but that won’t stop me reading widely around each module and gaining as much knowledge as I can! Now to go research the history of the use of herbs as medicine 🙂

Leave a comment